04/03/2023

To Darlene Booker-Jones, Chair of the AFSCME Local 696 Election Committee,

My name is J. Matthew Catron. Co-signing this protest with me is Executive Board candidate Evelyn Flint. I am writing you today to protest the clumsy, negligent misconduct on the part of the AFSCME Local 696 Election Committee chaired by yourself.

On the ballot for the 2023 AFSCME Local 696 election, three Trustee candidates were listed. The AF-SCME Local 696 Constitution provides for three Trustees.

Page 145 of the AFSCME International Constitution 2022, Appendix D Section 2-F clearly states:

F. In any case where there is only one nominee for office, such nominee shall be declared elected.

As such, all three Trustee candidates are, as of February 22nd, 2023, considered elected to a three-year term.

Additionally, page 12 of the AFSCME Election Manual states:

Do not list on the ballot any office for which there is only one candidate. That candidate has already been declared elected and placing that office on the ballot can only lead to confusion.

No Trustee candidates should have been listed on the 2023 AFSCME Local 696 ballot. Candidates for office received multiple inquiries as to the nature of the Trustee election, and it became immediately obvious that their listing did indeed lead to confusion of the membership.

Attached is a printout of a scan of the relevant ballot for your review.

Thank you for your haste in resolving this matter. A copy of this letter has also been sent to the AFSCME Judicial Panel.

In solidarity,

J. Matthew Catron

Evelyn Flint

AMERICAN ARBITRATION ASSOCIATION, ADMINISTRATOR Official Ballot AFSCME LOCAL 696

Please review Voting Instructions before voting

ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE BOARD	TO VOTE FOR SLATE MARK X IN BOX BELOW	TO VOTE FOR SLATE MARK X IN BOX BELOW RABBLE ROUSERS
PRESIDENT Vote for ONE (1)		SHARON THORPE
BUSINESS AGENT Vote for ONE (1)	MARK WEAVER	J. MATTHEW CATRON
VICE PRESIDENT Vote for ONE (1)	NATHANIEL BROWN	DEANNA JONES
TREASURER Vote for ONE (1)	🔲 FATINA EL	
SECRETARY Vote for ONE (1)		AMIRAH SHEPARD
EXECUTIVE BOARD Vote for up to SEVEN (7)	 AUDREY THOMAS YVONNE LOTT MARY KACHLINE AURELLIA HARRELL VICTOR COLLINS JEROME BRISBON HOLLIS CREVELLE 	 EVELYN FLINT TUNISHA WOODLAND CHARLES PAYNE, III TEVAN JACKSON
TRUSTEES Vote for THREE (3)	 JOYCIA DAVIS DANIELLE HENDERSON DENISE ARMSTRONG 	
SERGEANT-AT-ARMS Vote for TWO (2)	MARLON BARCLAY	SHANNON BALLOU KAZENSKI HALL

SEE VOTING INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE SIDE @