04/03/2023

To Darlene Booker-Jones, Chair of the AFSCME Local 696 Election Committee,

My name is J. Matthew Catron. Co-signing this protest with me today is AFSCME Member Marissa Wilk. I am writing today to protest the parliamentary violation that occurred on February 22nd, 2023 at the nomination meeting for the 2023 AFSCME Local 696 election.

You, the chair of the Election Committee, were charged with the responsibility of ensuring that each individual office for Local 696 was given proper time to receive nominations. You began correctly, asking for nominations to the office of President, but after Business Agent Dinkins nominated the SBU slate, and I nominated the Rabble Rouser Slate, it was the responsibility of the Election Committee to individually go through each office and ask for further nominations beyond the two slates.

The nomination process is described in Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised §46. §46:20-21 state:

When it appears that no one else wishes to make a nomination, the chair should again ask if there are any further nominations; and if there is no response, he normally declares that nominations (for that office) are closed, without waiting for a motion to that effect, as follows:

CHAIR: Are there any further nominations for President? ... [Pause.] If not [pause] ..., nominations are closed. [Or, "Without objection, ... nominations are closed."]

(For use of the motion to close nominations, which requires a two-thirds vote, see **31**.) After nominations have been closed, voting for that office takes place, or nominations for the next office are called for by the chair, depending on the procedure being followed by the particular organization.

There may have been other members who wished to nominate someone at the February 22nd, 2023 Special Membership Meeting. We cannot know this because proper parliamentary procedure was not followed for the nomination process.

Thank you for your haste in resolving this matter. A copy of this letter has also been sent to the AFSCME Judicial Panel.

In solidarity,	
J. Matthew Catron	Marissa Wilk